Negicco, Ne Badia, and September

To anticipate Negicco’s new single release on March 29th, I have hastened the subbing process for Ne Badia (ねぇバーディア), which involved nagging Tomomi for her translation.

Sorry, Tomomi! m(。≧Д≦。)m

Take a look:

Now, there are some parts of the lyric that you might find nonsensical and incoherent. The cause is that the writer made some outside references that might not be easily comprehended. In this post, I will elaborate some of them with the help of Tomomi, my dear translator in this project.

explanatory comment with red

Ne Badia

Even the title of the song is quite tricky. It is a reference to a popular EWF song “September”. In that song, a recurring phrase sung is ba-de-ya and that same phrase is used in this song. How can I be so sure? You will see why around the middle of the song.

Anyway, I and my translator assume that this song is about a girl expressing her love for a boy with some (Negi)twist.

挟んだ机に向かい合わせ

hasanda tsukue ni mukaiawase

何気なくね 座ったよね

nanigenaku ne suwatta yo ne

We sat across a desk facing with each other unintentionally (or casually)

 

慣れない正座に気を使って

narenai seiza ni ki o tsukatte

You took care of me because I was not accustomed to formal sitting

“Seiza” (=sitting formally on tatami ), so it is possible that the boy understands that the girl does not accustomed to sitting in such difficult formal position and does not make fuss about it or tells her to just sit the way she wants. [Update! A Negicco fan suggested that “casually” is a lot more suitable than “unintentionally”, and it makes a lot more sense: the boy knows the girl does not like to sit formally, so he just sits in casual style and asks her to do the same]

 

さりげなくね 心ほぐれた

sarigenaku ne kokoro hogureta

That natural kindness made me relax.

 

目と目が合うたび 微笑みがえし

me to me ga au tabi hohoemi gaeshi

Every time my eyes met yours

 

想いがあふれ出す

omoi ga afuredasu

My heart grows fonder.

 

ここから

koko kara

From here

 

あなたに あなたに あなたに 恋したんです

anata ni anata ni anata ni koi shi ta n desu

I fell in love with you! you! you!

 

好きになってもいいのかな

suki ni natte mo ii no ka na

May I fell in love with you ?

 

もう止められないけど

mou tomerare nai kedo

Though I cannot stop it

 

いますぐ

ima sugu

right now

 

あなたに あなたに あなたに 逢いに行きます

anata ni anata ni anata ni ai ni iki masu

I am going to meet you! you! you!

 

好きになってもいいのかな

suki ni natte mo ii no ka na

May I fell in love with you ?

 

もう止まらないねぎ

mou tomara nai negi

I can’t stop it anymore! Negi!

Why is there a Negi there? Because it’s a Negicco song and they like to put Negi in their sentences. Konichinegi-negi! Konbanegi-negi!

 

床の間置いてた愛の兜

tokonoma oiteta ai no kabuto

何気なくね かぶったよね

nanigenaku ne kabutta yone

You wore the helmet with the letter “love” that was placed at the decorative alcove so casually

“愛” or “ai” or “love” helmet is a symbol of a famous samurai came from Niigata, it comes from Aizen Myouou (愛染明王), the Japanese name for Ragaraja. Ragaraja is known to be a god that converts earthly desires (love/lust) into spiritual awakening. Since the helmet is unique and it looks cool, a lot of modern replicas are made and placed at decorative alcove, or tokonoma, a room in which items for artistic appreciation, like calligraphy and samurai armors, are displayed, in a Japanese style reception room. So the boy and the girl might be in the same tokonoma with “愛” samurai armor, then the boy took the helmet, and put it on to make the girl laugh.

 

なれないそぶりがおかしくて

narenai soburi ga okashikute

your awkward behaviour was so funny

なつかしいね 涙こぼれた

natsukashiine namida koboreta

Such happy memory, makes my tears trickle down.

 

目と目が合うたび 遠い記憶と

me to me ga au tabi tooi kioku to

Every time my eyes met yours

想いがよみがえる

omoi ga yomigaeru

I remember old day’s memory

 

あの時

ano toki

At that time

 

あなたに あなたに あなたに 恋したんです

anata ni anata ni anata ni koi shi ta n desu

I fell in love with you! you! you!

 

好きになってもいいのかな

suki ni natte mo ii no ka na

May I fell in love with you ?

 

もう止められないけど

mou tomerare nai kedo

Though I cannot stop it

 

いまから

ima kara

From now

 

あなたに あなたに あなたに 逢いに行きます

anata ni anata ni anata ni ai ni iki masu

I am going to meet you! you! you!

 

好きになってもいいのかな

suki ni natte mo ii no ka na

May I fell in love with you ?

 

もう止まらないねぎ

mou tomara nai negi

I can’t stop it anymore! Negi!

 

「ねえ バーディア

‘nee bādia

Hey, Baadia

Again, reference to EWF’s September.

 

覚えてる?

oboeteru?

Do you remember

Again, reference to EWF’s September: “Ba de ya – say do you remember”.

 

あの九月の日の出来事」

ano kugatsu no hi no dekigoto’

the September day’s event ?

Very clear, it is a reference to EWF’s September.

 

あぁ 風と 水と 炎

aaa kaze to mizu to honoo

Ah, wind, water, and fire

Clever reference to EWF: Earth, Wind, and Fire, but they replaced it with Wind, Water, and Fire

 

あの日から

ano hi kara

Since that day

 

あなたに あなたに あなたに 恋してたんです

anata ni anata ni anata ni koishi te ta n desu

I have loved you! you! you!

 

このまま好きでいいのかな

kono mama suki de ii no ka na

May I love you as I am ?

 

もう止められないけど

mou tomerare nai kedo

Though I cannot stop it

 

あたしたち

atashi tachi

あなたに あなたに あなたに 逢いに行きます

anata ni anata ni anata ni ai ni iki masu

We are going to meet you! you! you!

Atashi tachi! This is kind of referring to the live concert at Hibiya Park. Negicco is trying to say “we are going to meet you, our dear fans, at Hibiya Park”, which is the destination the girls are going to in the Music Video. It is the similar kind of twist near the end of the song thing with what they did in Idol Bakkari Kikanaide.

 

好きになってもいいのかな

suki ni natte mo ii no ka na

May I fell in love with you ?

 

もう止まらないねぎ

mou tomara nai negi

I can’t stop it anymore! Negi!

Leave a Reply

