My Chinese New Year Journey

IMG_20160208_171150

 

IMG_20160208_170355

Those are pictures I took on the ship which was taking me back to Jakarta. I wanted to take more pictures, but I realized the result were, at best, inadequate in comparison to what I perceived at that moment. Maybe it’s because my phone was incapable to capture the moment; it’s not a DSLR; but maybe it’s because of something else. The scent of the ocean, the movement of the clouds and sea, the motion of the ship, the wind, the whole experience; pictures can’t emulate such thing. So, I guess I decided to stop taking more photos and just dwelled at that moment.

As an extra, I would also like to share some story about my vacation on that island. Perhaps calling it a vacation is inaccurate. It took hours to get there. The main program in the itinerary was visiting relatives, which involved hours of conversation I don’t really fancy to participate in. A high level of precipitation. And that’s it. Oh, did I mention the blackout? I experience multiple blackouts on my stay there.

Did I enjoy my “vacation”?

I don’t like the notion of breaking the illusion that I’m an optimistic kind of guy, so I will say: yes (with a forced smile)

Oh, did I not tell you what are those pictures above? It’s Bakaheuni Port, Southern Sumatra. I went to Lampung.

 

I don't really know what it is. It's like a kind of rice cracker, but it's soft, sweet with a little bit taste of lime. Check it out!
I don’t really know what it is. It’s like a kind of rice cracker, but it’s soft, sweet with a little bit taste of lime. You can get it at Chandra, a local supermarket chain in Lampung. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

