Negicco – “Negative Girls” with English Sub

Is it 2016 already? Time surely flies fast. “Kouin ya no gotoshi” ( 光陰矢の如し) is a proverb my Japanese friend (kind of penpal) taught me, which means “time flies like an arrow”.

And this is my first video sub of 2016. Another one from Negicco, titled: Negative Girls! (ネガティヴ・ガールズ!).

Enjoy!

I love how they used a school setting and invited their fans to join the MV making. We can even see a parent brought a child to the setting. I guess the way they present themselves and the family-like atmosphere created in their live shows that makes Negicco stands out. It feels more like watching your daughters or nieces ballet recital (have never been into one though) than just watching an idol groups. It feels like you’re there to support somebody you know.

Anyway, there’s also interesting story behind the making of this sub.

As previous sub projects, I was helped by Misa-chan with the translation of the lyric (checkout her website) and everything seemed okay, but in the middle of subbing process I realized something was off. The Japanese and romaji lyric I supplied to Misa-chan were different in some parts with what the members were singing in the MV; apparently the lyric I found was the album version, while the one used in the MV (Ototoy MV) was improvised by the members. When I realized that, I posted my concern on Negicco fans group, and I expected nothing less: some help. And help did come:

 

Capture1

A detailed explanation of the difference was posted by Shibasaki-san, a member of the Negicco fan group, which was really helpful in making the sub more accurate. I think it was great. People from different places, who have never met each other, helped each other for the same thing that unite them together, which in this instance is love for Negicco. It’s a community effort!

Oyasu Negi Negi!

 

Leave a Reply

