Anton’s Coverage: AFAID 2015

What big event do we have on September 2015 in Jakarta? Yup, one event that will come up on most anime fans’ head is none other but Anime Festival Asia Indonesia (AFAID) 2015. To be frank, I planned to restraint myself from attending AFAID this year, since I was out of budget and I already planned a trip to Dewata Anime Festival (DAF) 2015 next month. Plus, the maid cafe was not suitable for people in my standard of living (250.000 IDR for the cheapest meal package… I miss CDA and their Maid Cafe with 60.000 IDR Takoyaki package…and Abigail T.T). But, alas, I found a moral justification to attend: my brother was going to the event alone. And so I went there with my brother.

How’s my journey? Check it out! (Warning: disappointing level of useful information. Try other site for better info about AFAID 2015)

BABTMETAL on screen on Amuse booth! But no merchandise available *sigh
BABTMETAL on-screen on Amuse booth! But no merchandise available *sigh

 

Met an old friend without appointment. Was he donning Yowamushi Pedal? He said he wasn't; he literally went from his home to JIExpo by bike. It has been a year, hasn't it?
Met an old friend without appointment. Was he donning Yowamushi Pedal? He said he wasn’t; he literally went from his home to JIExpo by bike.
It has been a year, hasn’t it?

 

I met Japanese cosplayers at Cool Japan Lounge. They were promoting a game subtitled "Fantasy Battle in Japan Traditional Hot Spring Village"...but I don't remember the title. They were so nice and polite and cute too! The lady in pink told me she liked my Mudkip badge and she like Pokemon too. ^^ I wanted to try out my limited Japanese and converse with them. But I was so nervous and all I can say was "arigatou" and my tongue hardened, my feet weakened... :( Will try better next time!!!
I met Japanese cosplayers at Cool Japan Lounge. They were promoting a game subtitled “Fantasy Battle in Japan Traditional Hot Spring Village”…but I don’t remember the title. They were so nice and polite and cute too! The lady in pink told me she like my Mudkip badge and she like Pokemon too. ^^
I wanted to try out my limited Japanese and converse with them. But I was so nervous and all I can say was “arigatou” and my tongue hardened, my feet weakened…😦
Will try better next time!!!

 

People might say: "THAT'S YUKATA for FEMALE". Well, it's definitely not written in stone or ratified by the congress and defiance is totally not punishable by law. So, that's me in a beautiful Yukata. I feel kawaii..oh so kawaii.. I feel kawaii and witty and bright!
People might say: “THAT’S YUKATA for FEMALE”. Well, it’s definitely not written in stone or ratified by the congress and defiance is totally not punishable by law. So, that’s me in a beautiful Yukata.
I feel kawaii..oh so kawaii.. I feel kawaii and witty and bright! And I pity. Any boy who isn’t me tonight.

 

I got a temporary tattoo from Aniplus booth. It's free and nice looking!
I got a temporary tattoo from Aniplus booth. It’s free and nice looking!

Btw, do you remember this song?

What a nostalgic song! It’s “Butter-Fly”, the soundtrack of original Digimon anime series, played by DJ Kazu. The stage was small but you can see how enthusiastic the crowds were. It’s like going back to the past, to the days when you went home from school before evening, to the days when anime-s were all about hope and friendship and courage. :’)

 

And before I went home, I found an interesting booth who sold gachapon prizes for a bargain price. It’s West-Ota booth, or Osaka Ota booth, promoting otaku culture at Nipponbashi-Ota-road of Osaka (rival of Akihabara of Tokyo). Two goods for 50.000 IDR and many of them have “not for sale” stamp on the packaging. I couldn’t restrain myself.

These are all the goods I brought home from AFAID 2015. Totally outside budget! T_T
These are all the goods I brought home from AFAID 2015. The creators’ circle products are also great! Look at the Nichijou art I bought, I rarely find Nichijou fan-art for sale. The IPO (Internet Positive) art is totally unique too. All of them are… totally outside budget! I’m technically embezzling the money of my future self. T_T

 

That’s all folks! Personally, I still enjoy Countdown Asia Festival 2015 more. It’s cheaper and there are a lot of artists’ performance I can enjoy. Aaaand the Maid Cafe is totally the deal breaker of CDAF. But that doesn’t mean AFAID 2015 is not memorable. It’s fun! Check them out next year!

Leave a Reply

