Watch out for that little slip of tongue!

Do you have some acquaintances who like to testify about their spirituality or preach or give spiritual advice through their social media? I do. The fact that I was once a caretaker of a religious student fellowship has become a main reason why I have a significant amount of “religious social crusaders” , no derogatory meaning intended, on my contact list. I’m not saying I don’t like their “social media crusade”, that would be politically incorrect, I just found their statements unfavorable in some instances. And that’s why I choose to disregard many of their divine statements. But I do pay attention to their statements sometime.

A couple of days ago, I caught a glimpse on this statement coming from a social media account of a crusader;

“You can tell the size of your God by looking at the size of your worry list. The longer your worrying list, the smaller your God.”

It sounds divine and good and so full of heavenly aura; clearly telling the reader to believe in God and stop worrying.

What? You got a hunch that I’m going to tell you the other way around? No, I won’t! I will not tell you that unearthly statement is wrong. What kind of person do you think I am?

I simply would like to propose a probability of another way to perceive that statement. There is a possibility that statement implicitly communicating a very dangerous idea; God is a fiction.  Let’s rephrase the statement to clarify my point; the size of your God determined by the length of your worrying list. “Worrying list” can be normally assumed as an independent variable; you can choose what to put on your list, as level of worry is relative and subjective. And guess what can be perceived in that statement as the dependent variable; the size of God. In a way, that statement can be perceived like this: Your worry list is relative; God is relative then; you can decide the size of God; God is fiction.

Again, I’m not saying the crusader is stating misleading statement. I’m simply proposing that there is a probability that statement might be misleadingly perceived.

My Bahasa teacher in my junior high school told me that the purposes of a message is to make the receiver understand what the sender is trying to communicate; therefore a sentence with multiple interpretations should be prevented. So, please, be careful with your statements, or your crusade.

P.S. try to read about fallacy and relate it to that statement. It is interesting to find so many ways to mislead people.

.

.

.

“It is not good to have zeal without knowledge, nor to be hasty and miss the way.”

–Proverbs 19:2

Leave a Reply

