My Umbrella

yellow umbrella
Image by solidether via Flickr

I have an umbrella, a big one, it gives a larger protection from water drops because of its size, and it is strong, a lot stronger than average compact umbrella. And I just love it when rain falls and I have my umbrella on my hand. But in the same time, it is troublesome when it is not raining ’cause I have to carry it everywhere. Remember I mentioned “big”? It is like carrying a longsword of a medieval knight.

They say one must prepare an umbrella before rain pours, and that means I have to carry my umbrella everywhere all the time. That’s not practical at all. And the funny thing is when I carry my umbrella, although I know I will get wet, I expect some heavy rain to fall, so that my umbrella won’t be useless.

Remember the quote: “A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for.” by John A. Shedd ?

So, there are unfortunate events in life that we dislike, and we prepared ourselves very well for that events, but somehow, because of that preparations, we expect those unfortunate events to happen.

Now let’s take that little bizarre theory into another example. Consider an armed force, an element that almost every nation has, don’t you think they would wish a clash will happen? Do you think a soldier would go through all the long and harsh training without hoping that one day his honed skill will be utilized? Or a police man, without a thief to catch?

It makes wonder, is it possible that some unfortunate events, are propagated by the very people designated to face them?

Leave a Reply

